Interview with Gary Arndt!

You enjoyed Gary Arndt?! We had a funny interview with him only for you! Learn more about our awesome featured travel photographer of the week 😉

 
1) Why did you suddenly decide to sell your house and leaving your whole life behind? Was it a dream for you?
 
I had several businesses I had started and I was at a position where I didn’t know what to do with my life. I had returned to school to study Geology and while it was fun, it wasn’t something I could do as a career.

In 1999 the firm I had sold my company to sent me on an around the world trip to talk to their regional offices. It was the first time I had ever traveled internationally and I enjoyed it. Sometime in 2005 I came up with the idea of traveling around the world and I just did it. It wasn’t a life long dream, it was just something I decided to do.

2) What country gave you the best memory? Why?
 
There is no one country, and most countries are large enough that the country as a whole doesn’t get credit so much as a single town or village.
That being said, some of my favorite countries include Fiji, Samoa, Namibia, Sierra Leone, Spain, Thailand and Australia.
 
3) What is your craziest/funniest experience while traveling?
 
Dog sledding in the Yukon would be up there. Swimming with jellyfish in Palau would as well.
 
4) How did you friends & family take your decision to go around the world?

Most of them probably thought I was crazy, but they didn’t really say anything to me as most of the decisions I’ve made in my life were considered crazy, but turned out for the best.

 
5) What advice can you give to our travelers?
 
The ability to adapt is more important than the ability to plan. Take things as they come and don’t worry about keeping to your original plan.

 

Sunset on Strait of Hormuz 2 - Musandam, Oman

Sunset on Strait of Hormuz 2 – Musandam, Oman

Leave a Reply

